The victorious team, with head of cricket Mr Potter.

In a fixture carried over from last year, our current Year 8 cricket team have been crowned as Year 7 borough cricket champions for 2015-16, after a comfortable win over Cranford Community College yesterday (Thursday 6 October 2016). The match took place at the Cranford Dome, and head of cricket Mr Potter was delighted with the boys’ display.

The match saw the winner of last year’s ‘A’ league -Isleworth & Syon – face the victors from the ‘B’ league, the hosts Cranford. Captain Asim Rehman (8D) lost the toss and so the boys were put in to bat. The match was limited to 13 overs due to time constraints, but this didn’t stop the team racking up an impressive score of 96-2, with Curran Bains (8A) the top scorer with 25 not out (and retired). Other honourable mentions go to the captain Asim (17 n.o.) and Ben Lumm (8A – 16 n.o.).

The boys really stepped up their game when it was time for a bowl, with the two wickets falling in quick succession in just the second over from Ziryab Qadeer (8D). Ahmad Qureshi (8A) made a great catch at mid-wicket to remove the number 2 opener, and in all it was a solid fielding display with very good economic bowling. We managed to restrict Cranford to just 80-4 after thirteen overs, leaving Cranford 17 runs short of the target. This meant that Isleworth & Syon were borough champions!

A huge well done to the twelve boys who played (listed below) – this victory is a testament to the hard work they have put in over the last year, with lots of early morning training sessions. Afterwards, Mr Rattu of Cranford commented on the exceptional standard displayed by the boys, as well as an outstanding level of etiquette and sportsmanship. Mr Potter has high hopes for this group of boys, with the sky the limit for this season. Check out @IsleworthSyonPE for further sporting updates throughout the season, as well as the weekly sports results, updated each Monday morning.

Ben Lumm (8A)
Asim Rehman (8D – c)
Amaan Harooni (8D)
Ziryab Qadeer (8D)
Cairo Richards-Glean (8A)
Waris Shah (8B)
Hamid Sohail Butt (8F)
Jivanjee Jivanjee (8B)
Sufyan Mir (8A)
Arham Jan (8D)
Ahmad Qureshi (8A)
Shafayat Mustafa (8F)


Tags: , ,